Ah so I have been, again, rather neglectful of my little blog over here on wordpress. It’s a shame cause I do rather like writing. Anyway I digress, what spurred me back into the world of blogging was a lecture I was very lucky to attend this morning.

The third year’s have been so incredibly fortunate to have been given the chance to take part in a new design and marketing module. One that sadly the year I’m in didn’t get last year. Typical!
But I have been lucky enough to have been able to attend the lecture today and, well, lets just say, it’s one of the few times I’ve been to a lecture and only written notes. No doodling what so ever.

Mike Press took the lecture, and I’ve been lucky enough to see him speak on one or two occasions more.
Would it be odd to compare him to a striptease? No one seemed to stop from watching him or lose concentration. A friend of mine also said after the lecture that it was funny to watch, as whenever there was something to write down, everyone would be heads down and noting down what needed to be remembered.
This man knows how to lecture. And it’s great being taught in a lecture where you come out thinking “oh yes, I’ve got to blog about that!” instead of “ Right, back to bed.”

Had you asked me last week, or even as recent as yesterday, how I was feeling about graduating and leaving the comfort of the University, I would have either, a) vomited all over your shoes, or b) stood their and cried. I had absolutely no idea what was in store for me, and I still don’t. But what scared me the most was that I had it in my head that “If I don’t get into an interiors company that’s it. That’s it. I’m buggered.” It quite literally would have been “The be all and end all.”

Press asked us all to write down 6 jobs we could do after we left university. I sat there, as I knew the answer for me already. Anything. I can be anything I want. Ok so I’ll have to take another course to be my “dream job” of a marine biologist, but I could still do it. Or to be more textile specific, work with marine biologists to create a new fabric. A bit like Speedos “Fastskin” created by Fiona Fairhurst (A material that mimics the likes of shark’s skin.)
Mike Press made me realise that, as cheesy as it sounds, the world really is our oyster (in keeping with the marine theme).

I walked away from that lecture feeling a lot, and I mean a lot, less scared of the future. Excited about all the things that are going to happen, hopefully involving design, in my life.  If not, well I hear the Russians are looking for cosmonauts…

So next time you see me, ask me how I’m feeling about the future. Hey, you won’t need to wash your shoes this time.

Leave a Reply

