The next idea.

I love what I do, very much, but everyone has their “dream job”. And I know that I’m probably doing what a lot of people consider their dream. Well my “dream job” is to be a Marine Biologist. I may not get a degree in it but hopefully in the future I’ll be able to work with some in creating textiles based around marine life.
One of my favourites being Speedo and their Fastskin creation, inspired by the varying skin textures of a shark. Creating a more efficient material for swimmers.
In the future i’d love to collaborate with other designers and biologist to create a textile that mimics a natural benefit like the streamline skin of a sharks. Perhaps an armadillos armour. Or geckos skin changing abilities into army wear. Possibly already been thought of or done, but I’m just batting about a few ideas!

I’m beginning to look at Batoidea’s or ray’s as most of us know them by. Looking into their classic shapes and forms. But also into some of the species migration patterns. Really quite a sight! Hopefully I’ll get some real studying done up close by visiting some aquariums or zoo’s and see where that takes me.

For now I’ll leave you with this incredible blanket of golden rays migrating south taken by Nick Allen for the Telegraph.

20120602-221815.jpg

Leave a Reply

